Nicky Lewis Interview

The model industry is portrayed as both controversial and glamorous by the media but it is difficult to understand what it is really like from the outside. I interviewed Nicky Lewis, a working model from South Wales who has been modelling for over a year. She spoke to me about her experiences so far…

ImageHow long would you say you have been officially modelling?

I have been officially modelling for about year and a half and it has been the most amazing learning curve.

What made you want to start taking modelling seriously and was there a moment that made up your mind?
I’ve always wanted to model, I’ve always bought the latest magazine and love looking at the latest trends but I have always thought that the girls wearing them had the best jobs in the world, getting to wear the fantastic clothes.

The one thing that made up my mind was probably after my third shoot when it got put in a magazine, I was so proud and wanted to continue from there.

What has been your favourite job so far?
My favourite job by far was walking for London Fashion Week. For a model to go far it’s always good to be signed by an agency and at the moment I’m not! I’m hoping to soon though and getting a space on a LFW catwalk was an incredible experience.

Picture on the right of Nicky walking at London Fashion Week for Claire Andrew

What would be your idea of the ideal client?
My ideal client is someone who takes their work seriously but can have fun, let loose and have a laugh on a shoot because I always seem to find myself laughing and it makes it so much more comfortable.

What’s the next step- what work have you got coming up?
I have a few things coming up a few catwalk shows, one in oxford and one in my hometown. I also have a few shoots and I’m talking to an agency as well, so fingers crossed it all does well.

It is often seen as difficult to get modelling work outside of the fashion capitols such as London, would you agree with this?
I don’t agree with it because I’m not signed in London and most of the modelling that I do is actually outside of London but maybe I’m one of the lucky few.

Do you have any advice to people aspiring to start modelling?
If you want to start modelling the only advice I can give is to be strong because you will find you get turned down a lot more than taken on! There is always someone out there that will want you, so take each day at a time and work around the set-backs.

How would you describe your personal style?
I have quite a mixed style because I really like expensive things but I’m quite versatile. I like trying different styles and tend to look to the catwalks and mixing it with highstreet for different looks.

Where are your favourite places to shop (shops/places)?
My favourite places to shop are probably Zara and Topshop for high street brands because they have everything that you could ever want or need, but I do love Mulberry and Alexander McQueen too- when I have the money.

Do you have anyone that you base your style on or look to when choosing an outfit?
I always look at what people like Alexa Chung and Olivia Palemero are wearing. I would say I am a mixture between the two!

The picture has been taken from Nicky’s Facebook page which can be accessed by following this link:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nicky-Lewis-Model/237513683004542

Leave a Reply

